Spinning thinly drives woman to drink!

Spinning as thinly as possible is every beginners goal and what Joy when you finally get to the stage where a hairs breadth of fibre slips through your fingers and yarn that appears to have been spun by angels is in your grasp.

Spinning this thinly then becomes a default setting. You can spin and talk, spin and watch the television, spin and cook the tea. Almost.

So I embarked on a huge project to spin this nimbus fibre as thinly as possible and then Navajo ply it in order to weave it.

20140313-133459.jpg

I’ve been spinning for weeks, I tell you hours and hours days and days of the same fibre. Granted, I can do other things, but it’s amazing how spinning the same colour can eventually begin to wear you down. I have no idea why this is, we’re doing the same task but a change of colour perks us up no end. Any suggestions why?

.

20140313-134319.jpg

Added to this, I chose to Navajo ply using an ordinary Lazykate. Despite the fact that I have a tensioned Kate, well, just up the stairs. The problem with plying such thin fibre is that it spins back into the bobbin on the Kate, meaning that you have to keep unwinding every so often. This can happen to when your skein ing the yarn onto the Niddy Noddy. It’s infuriating.

20140313-134512.jpg

So last night, I called it a day. I’m pleased with what I’ve spun, there is a fair amount of yardage on there. The Navajo/chain ply has kept the striping there and the colours true which is what I was after so I’m happy. But I’m exstatic that’s it’s over and I can spin something new!

20140313-134845.jpg

I have an Improving Spinning at Wickerwool at Cedar Farm on Saturday where we’ll cover Navajo plying among other things, if it’s something you’d like to try why not take a look at the course page on my Facebook page and come along and have a go. This class is full but there are more in the near future.

4 thoughts on “Spinning thinly drives woman to drink!

Leave a Reply

